Vuelta a Espana: Remi Cavagna seals first Grand Tour win as Primoz Roglic retains lead

Our partners use technologies, like biscuits, and accumulate data that is browsing to personalise the information and advertising and to provide you with the best internet experience.
Please let us know if you agree.
Frenchman Remi Cavagna secured his Grand Tour stage win on a day which featured mid-stage controversy on Friday in the Vuleta a Espana.
He held his pursuers off by five minutes and launched a solo assault with below 25km of point 19 to go.
Rush leader Primoz Roglic had been at a wreck which divide the peloton 65km out.
Alejandro Valverde’s Movistar group – against biking convention – assaulted, but eventually slowed and Roglic was able to rejoin the peloton.
Movistar’s move angered many together with fellow Spaniard Omar Fraile, who rides remonstrating closely with Valverde, who is in second place in general, in the race.
The Roglic, who maintained his lead of 50 seconds and two minutes of jumbo-Visma , eventually finished in 10th position, five minutes.
The crash watched Roglic’s team-mate, former world time trial champion Tony Martin, forced to abandon the race.
Stage 20 on Saturday – the penultimate evening of the race – is an 190.4km mountain stage from Arenas de San Pedro to Plataforma de Gredos.
1. Remi Cavagna (Fra/Deceuninck – Quick-Step) 3hrs 43mins 34secs
2. Sam Bennett (Irl/Bora Hansgrohe) +5secs
3. Zdenek ??tybar (Cze/Deceuninck-Quick-Step) Same moment
4. Philippe Gilbert (Bel/Deceuninck-Quick-Step)
5. Alejandro Valverde (Esp/Movistar Team)
6. Tosh Van der Sande (Bel/Lotto-Soudal)
7. Dylan Teuns (Bel/Bahrain-Merida)
8. Tadej Pogacar (Slo/UAE Emirates)
9. Miguel Angel Lopez (Col/Astana)
10. Primoz Roglic (Slo/Jumbo-Visma)
1. Primoz Roglic (Slo/Jumbo-Visma) 75hrs 0mins 33secs
2. Alejandro Valverde (Esp/Movistar) +2mins 50secs
3. Nairo Quintana (Col/Movistar) +3mins 31secs
4. Miguel ??ngel Lopez (Col/Astana Pro Team) +4mins 17secs
5. Tadej Pogacar (Slo/UAE Emirates) +4mins 49secs
6. Rafal Majka (Pol/Bora Hansgrohe) +7mins 46secs
7. Wilco Kelderman (Ned/Sunweb) +9mins 46secs
8. Carl Fredrik Hagen (Nor/Lotto-Soudal) +11mins 50secs
9. James Knox (GB/Deceuninck-Quick-Step) +13mins 23secs
10. Marc Soler (Esp/Movistar) +21mins 9secs
Tense, belly-laugh mind-warpingly weird, funny, and full of awwwwww
Road, trail, BMX, mountain and many more – there are many ways and motives to start cycling.
Got a cycling race? Make sure that you take advantage of your warm up with this guide.

Read more here:

Comments are closed.